True Korean Black Metal

If you browse through my list of favorite websites here on ye olde dying laptop you’ll find a link to Interpark, a great resource for finding out about upcoming concerts and plays here in the ROK. I visit Interpark at least once every couple of weeks to see what’s up, and sometime towards the end of February I noticed a concert listing for a band whose logo looked like this:
 Oathean logoNow, I’m not going to pretend that I’d ever heard of this band (Oathean) before, but I definitely know a metal logo when I see one. So I did a little research and found out that Oathean is actually one of Korea’s oldest and most established bands. In fact, the reason they were listed on Interpark is because they were playing their 15-year anniversary show. So, with money to burn and time to kill, I went.   

black metal 003

(Un)Holy crap, dear readers! I’ve been living in Korea for two years now. How did I not know there was an underground metal scene here? And not just a metal scene – an extreme metal scene.  

Of the five bands that played that night (Sunday, March 3rd), one was a melodic death metal/grindcore band (Remnants of the Fallen), one was a symphonic black metal band (Dark Mirror ov Tragedy, seen below – and yes, that’s a female violin player standing in the back) –

black metal 002

and Oathean was sort of a combination of the two. The other two bands were an awesome power metal act that sounded like a Korean version of Iron Maiden (Black Hole) and a Japanese deathcore band that sucked. Hey, four out of five ain’t bad.

All this time I just assumed Korea was all K-Pop and club music. I’ve never been so happy to be so wrong. \m/

Hopefully I can bring Kimchi along next time. You know how crazy he is for all those Norwegian “bark metal” bands: Dark Bone, Barkzum, EmPAWror, MahPen…
     
black metal 007

black metal 005

black metal 010

black metal 008

black metal 009

I’m sure he’ll dig the Korean scene as well. I know I like what I’ve seen so far.  

Anybody up for tagging along to a show?

About famousj525

"Well, you know, there really isn't very much to say about me." - Andy Warhol
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

