The Most Disturbing Thing You’ll See Today

…or at least I hope this is the most disturbing thing you’ll see today.

So here’s the story: every Monday I give my students a phonics lesson about a different letter from the English alphabet (you may remember my redneck take on the letter D). To get the lesson started, I always show them a PowerPoint presentation featuring different words that begin with the letter we’re learning (B is for boy, bear, baseball bat, etc.)

A few weeks ago we were learning the letter G, and I thought it was pretty much a no-brainer to include the word “girls.” Trouble is, when you do a Google image search for the word “girls” you get nothing but party pics of drunken college chicks…Not that there’s anything wrong with that, mind you, but I was looking for something more like this:

So, to refine my search, I Googled the phrase “little girls” (don’t worry; I felt appropriately guilty and creepy about it). Lo and behold, my search results turned up a whole series of pictures where children’s heads had been Photoshopped onto well-endowed women’s bodies along with captions that screamed things like: WHEN YOU LOOK AT A YOUNG GIRL AS SOMETHING MORE, YOU NEED HELP.

Apparently these are part of a campaign encouraging men not to view children as sex objects. I respect the message they’re trying to send, but man! Couldn’t they have found a less bizarre way to put it out there? And are pedophiles really the kind of people you can reach with this kind of campaign? Do you honestly think there’s some chester out there reading these posters saying, “My god, they’re right! It is wrong to see a child as anything more! I do need help!”?  Somehow I seriously doubt it.

Also, given the subject matter, don’t you think their wording is a little weak? I mean, we’re talking about statutory rape here. Can’t they make a stronger point than “It’s wrong?” That’s like saying, “IF YOU PUNCH YOUR GRANDMOTHER IN THE NOSE, YOU’RE A MEANIE.”

Like I said, disturbing. Disturbing on so many levels.

About famousj525

"Well, you know, there really isn't very much to say about me." - Andy Warhol
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Most Disturbing Thing You’ll See Today

  1. Brandy Conner says:

    oh my! That is horrible!!! Guess you will never type that into Google again. lol. Miss you and hope you are having the time of your life!

  2. Cathy Wiltz says:

    UNREAL!!! This is just a sign of the times…..

  3. Jared says:

    Y U no fap?

Leave a Reply

