“Today thou shalt be with me in Paradise”


Before I begin, dear readers, let me just go ahead and confirm something for all you art scholars out there. I know what you’re wondering, and the answer is yes. This picture was intended to be a tropical version of Caspar David Friedrich’s famous Wanderer Above the Sea of Fog:

Now that we’ve gotten that out of the way, let me tell you about my trip to Guam.

Why Did You Go to Guam, J?

I know some of you won’t be able to sit still until you know why I went to Guam in the first place, so here’s the explanation. The school year got started here in Korea before I could properly complete my visa process. Thus, I was issued a 90-day passport and told to wait until all of my documents came through. Once they were all ready, I had to fly to the nearest U.S. state or territory to complete my application. The U.S. territory closest to Korea is Guam.

That’s right. I didn’t have all of my paperwork done on time, so they gave me a 4-day paid weekend in Paradise to take care of it. My life is so incredibly difficult. 🙂

While I was there, I called up my old friend and co-worker Sarah Fernandez (yes of course I have a friend in Guam – don’t you know how insanely popular I am?). Sarah  graciously took me out to dinner with her family and then gave me a local’s tour of the island. Among the many things she showed me – 

A memorial/cemetery dedicated to the heroic dogs of WWII

A Spanish fort

An authentic Chamorro village
(No lie – Legend has it that if you urinate where the spirits of the elders pass, your testicles will swell up the very next morning. Ha! I wasted no time debunking that nonsense.)

And of course lots and lots of beautiful scenery (Everything in Guam is beautiful.)

It’s really kind of nice the way everything has worked out, actually. Just four months ago I was living in Oxford, MS, totally depressed, struggling to pay my bills, gaining lots of weight, waiting for my life to begin, and wondering if any of my big crazy plans to see the world would ever really amount to anything. Fast-forward to last Friday (the 22nd, Good Friday) when I was standing at the top of a cliff, staring out over the bluest water I’ve ever seen, and saying to myself, “Holy crap. I’m in Guam.” Talk about a feeling of resurrection.

To top it all off, I went to a bookstore at Guam Premium Outlets to do a little browsing. You’ll think I’m making this up, but when I first walked in they weren’t playing any music on the overhead. Several minutes later they played one song and then the music went off again.  What was that one song?…

🙂 Here’s to minor falls and major lifts.

J.

About famousj525

"Well, you know, there really isn't very much to say about me." - Andy Warhol
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Today thou shalt be with me in Paradise”

  1. Jenna says:

    I’m so incredibly happy for you, J. And of course they played our song. It’s kismet.

  2. Sarah Fernandez says:

    Thank you J. Im glad you enjoyed your trip. It was fun! next time you come to guamgive me a call and we’ll tour some more.

Leave a Reply

