D is for Deep South, Y’all

It was bound to happen sooner or later. Last week my new co-workers (mostly Canadians), having gotten past the initial getting-to-know-you pleasantries, all started asking variations of the same question: “So, J…where did you say you were from again?” My fellow Southerners already know where this is going. 

Yes, apparently I have some kind of accent that everyone has picked up on. I’ve been told it’s not a twang. And it’s not really a drawl either. “It’s just the way you say things, the tone of it. And some of the phrases you use.”

My “Southern-ness” thus established, the inevitable joking has begun. For example, when I asked if my home internet connection would be suitably fast, I was told, “It’ll be a lot faster than anything you’ve seen down there in Mississippi, that’s for sure!” And when I was preparing to introduce my students to the word “cousin,” I was reminded that “cousin” and “girlfriend” are two different words for a reason. 

Personally, I love it. I don’t think you’re truly a part of a new working environment until your co-workers feel comfortable joking with you. So, taking the redneck jokes in stride, I thought it might be fun to throw some Southern flavor into this week’s Letter D slideshow. Remember, y’all, D is for…

and of course

Yee-haw! These young’uns oughta have a dang ole good time with this here!

About famousj525

"Well, you know, there really isn't very much to say about me." - Andy Warhol
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to D is for Deep South, Y’all

  1. Dad says:

    Love the Day with J and Deep South Theme.

  2. Cathy Wiltz says:

    J, I love the “D” s It did take them awhile to notice unless they were being just being nice!! But it does make you feel like one of them now…that is good.

  3. Pingback: The Most Disturbing Thing You’ll See Today | A Day With J. (South Korean Edition)

Leave a Reply

